Teaching, best job in the world.

Today marked my official first day in the classroom. Going into school this morning I had a trunk full of various items your typical teacher would never use and no idea of where I was going to start. I just knew that I had my initial lessons in mind and I was so excited to begin.

Classroom 1 20150819_160126

I often get asked if I have a difficult job, if the age I teach is a tough one and my favorite question is “which age would you rather teach?” After five solid years in this profession wearing various hats from art teacher to assistant to finally running my own classroom I am certain that I do in fact have the best job ever, for me difficult doesn’t exist, it’s simple challenges that I may encounter along the journey of my career. I think what many adults lack to comprehend when it comes to my profession is that I get to have the children during the best time of their day. They have come to me after the morning routine is over, ready to do what it is they are supposed to do for eight hours. School to a child is a job to an adult. When you’re in an environment that feels like home and you feel safe and cared for you will love where you are. You will expend the energy you need to in order to be successful in your day and at the end of the day you are tired and ready to take a break. I have found this to be true of all ages of children so when asked what age I prefer to teach I do not have a good answer, the truth is there is no age I wouldn’t want to teach.

My job and challenges lie in the times when children experience dramatic changes both physical and emotional. Or when there is some sort of drama among the students in the classroom. However through my time teaching in various elementary schools both in practice and profession I have learned how to connect with children, how to from the important bonds that allow them to know they can trust me and I can trust them. I know the most important thing I do is truly get to know the children, provide clear consistent boundaries and ground rules and to ALWAYS above all else be fair. This is a recipe for a successful environment which will allow the children to know to respect the rules of the classroom and to respect their teacher. By laying out the foundations and sticking with my philosophy I have found my job to be very easy. It’s honestly the only job I have ever had where I look forward to work every day, waking up at 5am has purpose and I feel as though I am making a difference.

Today as the day began to wind down I found that I was able to teach lessons to all of the children, get out information that I wanted them to have an set a standard for how the daily routine will be. I left school today feeling really good about how things went and inspired to write this post.

Although I will no longer be posting art lessons as I had before I hope to use this blog as a vehicle to share my Montessori journey.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

