Holiday Gifts

20131219_203922

Each year my students will work hard baking thoughtful cookies or hand dipped chocolate pretzels. It’s such a nice time to give and to teach about  the joy of giving.

But when you have 28 students, plus the 6 that you are with everyday who wait for the bus like I do, you need to come up with something that would be both thoughtful and fun while not burning a hole in your pocket. I was excited when I came up with something last year and it went over really well. I decided this year to share what I’ve used.

 

 

First I start off with candy canes and truffles (I found out the the Lindor truffles are a favorite and they are not too expensive, plus they come in a variety pack which is always a little added fun).

20131219_203445

 

I also use ribbon, various holiday colors are good. I got this from Walmart, but any craft store works too

20131219_203548

 

Cut about 6-7 inches of ribbon. (The length will help with having longer curls later.) Tie it around the end of the candy cane just once.

20131219_203723

 

Now add a chocolate truffle. Tie on the end of the twisted part of the candy to a new knot in your ribbon which is already attached to the candy cane. Then use scissors to curl the ends.

20131219_203808

 

Done! Fast, easy and they look great!

20131219_203840

Leave a Reply

