Origami

LESSON TITLE: Origami
TEACHER NAME: Jennifer Schupak
GRADE LEVEL: K – 3rd
CLASS TIME: _45_Minutes _1_Days/week _1_# Session(s)
SUBJECTS COVERED – Math – Geometric Shapes

OBJECTIVES

  1. Students will follow direct instruction, folding techniques and discover spacial recognition

MATERIALS

  • Origami paper
  • Scissors (optional)

VOCABULARY

valley fold – folding the paper in half so the bottom of the paper is folded to the top of the paper

mountain fold – folding the paper so the top of the paper is folding in half to the bottom of the paper

reverse fold – after making a crease, or fold in the paper, fold one side inwards along the opposite side to fold inside out

PROCEDURE

Let me start out by saying this … if it’s hard to o, then it will be hard to teach. MAKE SURE YOU LEARN THESE STEPS FIRST!

Start out by passing out one piece of paper to each student. Tell them what they will be making. DO NOT take requests because they will all ask for something different. If this is their, and or your first time with this lesson begin with the folding instructions. Tell them what a mountain fold is, a valley fold, a reverse fold, ect. Then start out with a very easy piece such as a boat or a cup. Once they get the hang of this then move on to something more complex. You can find a lot of pdf printouts on the second website I have listed. I have attached most of the pdf.s I liked to this entry.

RESOURCES

Origami for Kids – http://www.origami-instructions.com/origami-for-kids.html

Origami.com – http://dev.origami.com/diagram.cfm

popcorn_cup

origami-samurai-hat-print

origami-crown-print

little_boat

FOLLOW UP

My younger students are a bit over the top, and sadly the ones who want to learn suffer from the ones who are too distracted in class. This really came out during class today when I tried out my direct instruction method with my younger students. It was my secret hope that by using the direct instruction that they would listen and since we would be folding paper and doing the origami I was hoping they would want to listen to me more and not be distracted by each other. I was still unsuccessful with this. I believe this is a lesson reserved for my older students, or a class with better listening skills. We got through about 3 of the paper models in an hour. That’s a lot of yelling, telling them to sit down, repeating instructions, and regaining their attention to me. I need to do some more research on classroom management.

Leave a Reply

