Teach them to Draw

This week I want to tackle what I feel is the most difficult thing in teaching. Keeping them occupied.

Now because I work in an unconventional atmosphere with now chalk boards to demo on, no wall space to tape paper up on and rickedy old tables where my students complain interferes with drawing a straight line, I have a lot of challenges outside of my usual “I don’t want to be here” attitude. Last week when I began teaching my older students, I noticed they rushed through the lesson so they could have time to free draw. I gave in to this because I wanted to see what they were going to draw on their own, sans my reinforcement.

One of my students started drawing a football, a rather nice looking sketch of a football and then a stick figure next to it. I told him I could show him how to draw a person, and then I took out a new piece of paper and drew a person. He said that his brother had taught him to draw the football and that he needed more lessons from him before he could draw more, because his brother was an artist.

I said “well I’m an artist too, and that’s why I’m here to to teach you!”

“You ARE?” he said to me with wide eyes, and all of a sudden I had their attention.

My first mistake was that my students who are pushing adolescent age need to learn more about me and my background for them to respect me. In my student teaching I was introduced to my students as another art teacher who is going to take over. They already knew who was in charge and that I was a professional.

So this week I am going to teach my students how to draw. And like I said, I have no demo space, so I want to teach them about shapes and dimension, and I have a model sail boat that I know is rather difficult to draw, but I think they are up for the challenge. It’s big enough for them to touch it and play with it. But it’s portable so I can bring it to my classroom.

LESSON TITLE: How to Draw
TEACHER NAME: Jennifer Schupak
GRADE LEVEL: 3rd – 5th & Up
CLASS TIME: _40_Minutes _1_Days/week _2_# Session(s)
SUBJECTS COVERED – Art, History, Math

OBJECTIVES: Learn about positive and negative space and how it affects the objects and how we draw them.
Discover the importance of study drawings, planning and spatial building inside of the paper parameters.
Discuss the geometric shapes found in all objects both constructed and found in nature discovering how we can build any object with basic geometric shapes.

Learning Standards:
Grades 5-8
Historical, Cultural and Social Contexts
Benchmark A: Compare and contrast the distinctive characteristics of art forms from various cultural,
historical and social contexts.
Grade 5: 1. Identify visual forms of expression found in different cultures.
Grade 7: 2. Describe how the same subject matter (e.g., portrait, landscape and still life) is represented differently in works of art across cultures and time periods .
grade 8: 1. Explain how social, cultural and political factors affect what artists,
architects or designers create.
Creative Expression and Communication
Students create artworks that demonstrate understanding of materials, processes, tools, media, techniques
and available technology. They understand how to use art elements, principles and images to
communicate their ideas in a variety of visual forms.
Grade 3: 1. Demonstrate skill and expression in the use of art techniques and processes.
2. Use appropriate visual art vocabulary when describing art-making processes.
Benchmark A: Apply knowledge of materials, tools, media, techniques and processes to communicate
subject matter, themes or ideas in a variety of visual forms.
Grade 5: 1. Use observational and technical skills to achieve the illusion of depth in two-dimensional space (e.g., value, perspective and placement of objects).
Grade 6: 2. Recognize and demonstrate the qualities and characteristics of craftsmanship in original works of art.
Grade 8: 1. Identify and apply criteria to assess content and craftsmanship in their works.
Benchmark C: Achieve artistic purpose and communicate intent by selection and use of appropriate
media.
Grade 5: 4. Apply problem-solving strategies to improve the creation of artwork.
Grade 7: 4. Apply observation skills to refine and improve their representational
drawings (e.g., add details, improve proportion, create distinctive images and coordinate objects spatially).

I will start my lesson by talking about shapes, I will give them paper and pencils and have them fold the paper 4 times so they have 4 squares.  I will ask them to draw me a shape that has at least 3 sides, no more than 5 sides. So I will expect a triangle, a square, rectangle, or even a shape they make up. As long as it has sides. Then I will tell them to draw me a shape with one round edge and one flat edge, so I expect them to draw me a circle with a flat edge. So on the paper we will have four shapes in the four sections of the paper. This will be my warm up before I show them the sail boat.

When we get to the sail boat I will ask them to tell me if they see similarities in the shapes they drew and the shapes we can find on the sail boat. So I hope they will say triangle, round bottom with a flat top, rectangles and so forth. I will then also talk about the shapes that the boat makes with the space in the empty space. We will then talk about negative and positive space.

I will then tell them to draw the sail boat to the best of their ability using the skills we developed in the lesson. I will have them sketch it lightly and then trace over it. I will let them color it when they are done. If they all finish early I will have them draw it again but tell them to draw the negative space. Ultimately I want to lead up to a lesson of cutting paper and gluing the shapes on to a new page to make a drawing. This will come next week.

My plan is to keep my students constantly entertained and allow them to be apart of this hands on project. I think they will really enjoy what I have in store for them.

I will go to the dollar store today and I hope to find paint brushes and construction paper for upcoming classes.

Leave a Reply

